CAN FD

综合的工具链可用于CAN标准扩展。


HMS产品和服务让您可以...

  • 连接您的PC到CAN FD系统,可实现基于PC的控制,配置和分析
  • 连接CAN和CAN FD网络
  • 分析和维护您的系统
什么是CAN FD?
Download CAN FD Article
CAN FD Products and Services
CAN FD Interfaces
 

连接您的PC到CAN FD

Ixxat PC CAN接口既可以支持典型的CAN也可以支持新的CAN FD标准。使用VCI Windows驱动,可直接开发基于PC的应用。

  • 针对不同的PC接口标准具有各种各样的产品模式
  • 针对特定的基于PC的CAN和CAN FD应用都有Windows驱动 

针对CAN FD的PC CAN接口

 
CAN FD Infrastructure
 

内部连接您的系统和设备

对于内部连接基于CAN和CAN FD的系统,HMS提供广泛的产品系列。  

CAN 中继器
CANbridge NT

 
CAN Tools
 

分析与配置

我们提供广泛的工具用于开发,系统调试和故障排除。

  • canAnalyser – 简单分析,传输和记录您的CAN与CAN FD报文

针对CAN与CAN FD的canAnalyser

CAN FD – 简短介绍

 

为什么选择CAN FD?

节点数量、传输速率以及的循环次数出现了增长性需求,而经典CAN总线(8数据字节和1 Mbit/秒数据速率)的极限并不能满足此需求,这就出现了瓶颈:取决于网络扩展的数据速率,用于服务的短数据长度,以及模拟数据在此具有非常重要的作用。 

在日常使用中,这些限制通常通过折中方式来规避:在各种应用中将系统划分成不同的网段 – 或者甚至可以划分成平行网络 – 这意味着现有技术被不断耗尽,这通常导致复杂,就配置、设置和维护而言又很昂贵的解决方案。原则上,可以切换到高性能的工业以太网技术。通常有必要提升投资水平,并且改变数据结构,配置的思维模式,尤其是时间控制的系统,在广泛的网络中通常面临相当大的挑战。此外,切换开发,调试和维护工具也有必要, 这通常让许多用户放弃了完全的转变。

与此同时,也希望以有用方式继续使用现有操作技术。

这就是可以使用CAN FD的地方:CAN FD(具有灵活数据速率的CAN)是2012年博世推出的“经典”CAN的扩展版本,并且极大地扩展了可用数据速率和可用数据长度。另一方面,经过实践检验的CAN概念保留了下来:即基于报文ID的仲裁,事件驱动的报文发送,以及通过应答位接收的报文应答。

 

提升的数据速率

通过接收器实现报文应答,这在经典CAN中使用,提供广泛的优点,主要是通过在传输报文内确认传输成功的方式 – 潜在传输失误可被快速检测并且数据可以极快地实现再次传输。

报文仲裁基于CAN标识符也为控制应用带来了优势,可在数据传输过程中避免冲突,以及对于高优先级的报文提供短延迟时间,甚至是在更高总线负载的时候。

 使用该方式的缺点是,在采样时间内,所有的节点必须使用相同的总线电平,以此避免故障。相应地,一位间隔必须在网络中两个最远节点之间具有足够的信号传播时间,包括其总线激活时间。 该位间隔和数据速率因此直接取决于网络扩展;40米扩展可达到1 Mbit/s,而250米扩展就会降到250 kBit/s。

为了不改变现有通讯技术并极大地提升数据速率,CAN FD使用两个不同的位速率工作。“仲裁速率”用于控制命令(包括仲裁,报文类型,结束检测和应答),它依赖于传播速度因此也依赖于网络扩展。与此相反,也可选择使用第二种“数据位速率” – 用于数据内容和数据安全。此刻,只有报文传输器占用总线,这也就意味着没有必要在位时间内直接反馈。可达到的最大数据速率因此只依赖于传输媒介的传输特性,而不依赖于信号传播。CAN FD网络目前可实现8 MBit/s的生产使用,其中CAN FD标准可高达15 Mbit/s。这种位速率也在各种各样的测试系统中成功使用。 

 

CAN-FD-Technology-Frame

图片1: 在该例子中,共计有42字节的配置数据被传输。要在经典CAN中实现此举,必须采用能够使用8字节报文就将整个数据传输的传输协议。该示例基于模型传输协议,仅使用第一个数据字节来控制数据流。这意味着其余的7个字节可用于每个CAN报文。根据采用的传输协议,额外的数据区就有必要用于控制。
以下,相比之下,带48字节用户数据的单个CAN FD报文,可以替代所需的6个经典CAN报文。由于数据也在上述CAN FD报文中以更高位速率传输,该CAN FD报文就比经典CAN报文需要的总线时间少太多。此外,单个CAN FD报文的使用在此极大地简化了数据流的管理。

 

这两种数据速率在CAN FD控制器中被设置成互相独立,使用两个位定时寄存器。在两个数据速率之间切换是通过使用协议中的两个控制位来实现的。第一个位一直留作"扩展数据长度"位(EDL),并且根据其隐性级别定义CAN FD报文。实际的位速率切换是通过新添加的位完成的,这个位就是"位速率切换"位(BRS),在采样时可切换到更高的位速率。 在CRC限制位被采样时可切换回去。

 

扩展的用户数据

控制数据通过使用众所周知的更低位速率传输,因此也就限制了可以达到的数据速率。通过提升用户数据区到64字节,更多的数据可以快速传输模式发送,因此有效地提升了数据速率。

经典CAN只提供8个数据字节,对于许多数据应用并不足够,例如,传输高精度的模拟数值,或用于控制带有不同解码数值和驱动命令的多轴机器人。为此,必须添加服务数据,直到现在极大地减少了有效性,因为传输协议需要传输多于8个字节。

CAN FD现提供了一种选择,可使用高达64个数据字节。这样做,更大的数据块可以单个报文传输 – 尤其是过程数据,使用单个过程报文现在也可完全控制更多复杂的设备。对于服务数据,减少了一些传输协议的必要性,因为单个的CAN FD报文通常只用于配置数据或类似数据。

CAN-FD-Technology-Time-Line

图片2:该图表以单一时间轴展示了图片1显示的CAN报文:对于经典CAN,此处假设数据速率是250 kBit/s。对于具有8个字节用户数据的报文(例如1字节用于传输协议,7字节用户数据) 并且具有最大可能数量的填充位,经典CAN报文需要大概500 µs左右的总线时间。如果传输节点能够无延迟地连续发送所有六个报文,总线将完全拥堵3毫秒用于传输42字节的用户数据。
相比之下,带有48个字节用户数据的CAN FD报文,250 kBit/s仲裁速率和2 MBit/s数据位速率仅占用总线大约365 µs – 同样也使用最大可能的填充位。
这种极大的更快速数据传输也改善了CAN系统的实时性能,因为具有标志性地更短的响应时间,与此同时还提升了数据速率并减少了数据管理的复杂性!

 

为了防止不必要地扩展控制数据,CAN FD也只使用4位用于数据长度代码 – 数值0到8直接取自经典CAN。现在还未定义的数据(9到15,例如1001到1111)用于新的,扩展的数据长度:除了0到8字节,12,16,20,24,32,48和 64字节也可用于用户数据。不同形式的数据长度不支持,也就是说,未使用区需要填写“填充值”。

除了数据区的快速传输,使用CAN FD可极大提升有效可用的数据速率,并且可大量减少循环时间。以此种方式,具有500 kBit仲裁,4MBit数据传输和64数据字节的CAN FD网络可实现超过5Mbit/s的有效数据速率。

 

实时能力

将多个独立数据包结合成单个报文意味着数据管理变得更为简单化,因为单个报文不再需要以极大成本实现互相同步。更大数据包的快速传输,同经典CAN相比,在相同时间内可传输相当于经典8字节CAN报文8倍的数据量(64字节)。以此方式,高优先级的报文可以更快速地传输并且增强了实时性能。

 

数据安全性

数据安全性是一个重要课题:不仅和经典CAN相比具有更大的数据包,CAN FD还满足了相同的数据安全性需求。这是通过使用更长的带有对应算法的CRC检查密钥实现的,例如,根据传输的数据字节的数量,使用了三种不同的CRC算法中的一种:之前针对报文的CRC公式可达8个数据字节,并且具有两个加强的公式可达16个数据字节或者针对报文可多于16个数据字节。CAN控制器将使用的算法由数据长度代码决定。

对于改善的数据安全性,采用了额外的建议。结果是,CAN FD报文中的CRC一直以填充位起始;另外5位之后有一个额外的填充位 – 与CAN填充位规则相反,它独立于以前的位数值。每个填充位都具有之前位的补充值。

 

向后兼容性

从CAN向更快速通讯系统切换的一个缺点是对于完全转换的频繁需求:所有CAN参与者必须适应新系统,例如EtherCAT。或者,机器控制器可被扩展用于多个异构网络。两种方式都有优点和缺点。使用CAN FD,就又有了一种额外“温和”的方式可选:因为CAN FD控制器也可作为经典CAN节点使用,所有网络节点可逐渐被支持CAN FD的设备取代。一旦整个网络支持CAN FD,CAN FD的优势就会发挥到极致。 这对于专用机械尤为重要,因为它们的网络参与者通常不能被自由节点替换 – 尤其是用户特定的设备或内部开发的设备。

CAN FD

Comprehensive toolchain for the
extended CAN standard.


HMS products and services enable you to...

  • connect your PC to CAN FD systems, enabling PC based control, configuration and analysis
  • connect CAN and CAN FD networks
  • analyze and maintain your systems
What is CAN FD?
Download CAN FD Article
CAN FD Products and Services
CAN FD Interfaces
 

Connect your PC to CAN FD

Ixxat PC CAN interfaces support both, classic CAN and the new CAN FD standard. Using the VCI Windows driver PC based applications can be easily developed.

  • Available in various form factors and for many PC interface standards
  • Windows drivers for customer specific PC based CAN and CAN FD applications 

PC CAN Interfaces for CAN FD

 
CAN FD Infrastructure
 

Interconnect your systems and devices

For the interconnection of CAN and CAN FD based systems HMS offers a large product portfolio  

CANbridge NT

 
CAN Tools
 

Analyze and Configure

We offer a wide range of tools for your development, system commissioning and for troubleshooting.

  • canAnalyser – easily analyze, transmit and log your CAN and CAN FD messages

canAnalyser for CAN and CAN FD

CAN FD – A brief introduction

 

Why CAN FD?

The growing demands in the number of nodes, transfer rates and cycle times lead to bottlenecks that the limitations of classic CAN (8 data bytes and 1 Mbit/s data rate) cannot fulfill: The data rate that depends on the network expansion and the short data length for service and analogue data play a particular role here.

In daily use, these limitations are often circumvented by means of compromises: The division of the system into different network segments in various applications – or even into parallel networks – means that the existing technology is constantly being exhausted, which has often led to solutions that are complex and expensive in terms of configuration, setup and maintenance. In principle, a switch to high-performance industrial Ethernet technologies would be possible. The increased level of investment usually necessary and the change in the data structures and mode of thinking for the configuration, in particular for time-controlled systems, often represent a considerable challenge in extensive networks. In addition, a switch in tools for development, commissioning and service is necessary, which often deters many users from a complete conversion.

At the same time, there is a desire to continue to use existing know-how in a useful manner.

This is where CAN FD plays a role: CAN FD (CAN with flexible data rate) is an extended version of the well-known "classic" CAN introduced by Bosch in 2012 and that significantly extends the usable data rate and usable data length. On the other hand, tried-and-tested CAN concepts have been retained: arbitration based on message IDs, event-driven dispatch of messages and acknowledgement of messages received by means of the acknowledgement bit.

 

Improved data rate

Message acknowledgement by receivers, which is used in classic CAN, offers a wide range of advantages by means of confirming the success of the transmission within the transmitted message – potential transmission errors are quickly detected and the data can be re-transmitted extremely quickly.

Arbitration of the messages based on the CAN identifier also offers advantages for control applications by avoiding collisions during data transmission and providing short latency times for high-priority messages even at higher busloads.

The disadvantage of the methods used is that at sampling time the same bus level must exist at all nodes to avoid faults. Accordingly, a bit interval must make sufficient signal propagation time available between the two most remote nodes in a network, including their bus activation. The bit interval and consequently also the data rate is thus directly dependent on the network extension; at an expansion of 40 m up to 1 Mbit/s is possible, but at 250 m extension this drops to as low as 250 kBit/s.

To significantly increase the data rate without changing the existing communications technology, CAN FD works with two different bit rates. The "arbitration rate" for the control commands (including arbitration, message type, end detection and acknowledgement) is dependent on the propagation speed and thereby on the network extension. By contrast, a second "data bit rate" is optionally also used – for the data content and data security. At this point in time, only the message transmitter occupies the bus, which means that direct feedback within the bit time is unnecessary. The maximum achievable data rate is therefore only dependent on the transmission characteristic of the transmission medium, and not the signal propagation. CAN FD networks currently enable productive use with 8 MBit/s, whereby the CAN FD standard permits up to 15 Mbit/s. This bit rate has also been successfully used in various test systems. 

 

CAN-FD-Technology-Frame

Picture 1: In this example, configuration data totaling 42 bytes is transmitted. To do this in classic CAN, a transport protocol must be implemented to be able to transmit the entire data quantity in 8-byte messages. The example is based on a model transport protocol that only uses the first data byte for controlling the data stream. This means that up to 7 bytes are still available for each CAN message. Depending on the transport protocol implemented, additional data fields can be necessary for control.
Below this, by comparison, a single CAN FD message with 48 bytes of user data, which can replace the 6 classics CAN message required. As the data is also transmitted at a higher bit rate in the CAN FD message shown above, this CAN FD message needs significantly less bus time than the classic CAN messages. In addition, the use of a single CAN FD message here significantly simplifies the administration of the data stream.
 

 

The two data rates are set independently of one another in the CAN FD controller using two-bit timing registers. Switching between the two data rates is performed using two control bits in the protocol. The first bit reserved up till now is used as the "Extended Data Length" bit (EDL), and defines a CAN FD message due to its recessive level. The actual bit rate switch is performed by a newly added bit, the "Bit Rate Switch" bit (BRS), in which a switch to the higher bit rate is made at sampling time. Switching back is performed at the time that the CRC restriction bit is sampled.

 

Extended user data

The control data is still transmitted using the well-known lower bit rates, thereby limiting the achievable data rates. By increasing the user data area to up to 64 bytes, more data can be sent in fast transfer mode, thereby effectively increasing the data rate.

Classic CAN provides only 8 data bytes, which is no longer sufficient for many data applications, e.g. for transmitting high-precision analog values or for controlling a multi-axle robot with its diverse encoding values and drive commands. To this, service data must also be added, which up to now has significantly reduced the effectiveness due to the transport protocols required for transmission of more than 8 bytes.

CAN FD now provides the option to use up to 64 data bytes. In so doing, larger data blocks can be transmitted in a single message – particularly in the case of process data, more complex devices can now be completely controlled using only a single process message. For service data, the necessity for transport protocols is reduced, as a single CAN FD message is often only required for configuration data and similar.

CAN-FD-Technology-Time-Line

Picture 2: This figure shows the CAN messages displayed in picture 1 in a single timeline: for classic CAN a data rate of 250 kBit/s is assumed here. For messages with 8 bytes of user data (1 byte for the transport protocol and 7 bytes of user data in the example) and the maximum possible number of stuff bits, a classic CAN message requires around 500 µs bus time. If the transmitting node is able to send all six messages consecutively without delay, the bus will be completely blocked for three milliseconds for transmitting the 42 bytes of user data.
By comparison, a CAN FD message with 48 bytes of user data, 250 kBit/s arbitration rate and 2 MBit/s data bit rate occupies the bus for only approx. 365 µs – also with the maximum number of stuff bits.
The significantly quicker data transmission also improves the real-time behavior of CAN systems due to the markedly shorter response times, and at the same time increases the data rate and reduces the complexity of data administration!

 

To prevent extending the control data unnecessarily, CAN FD also uses only 4 bits for the data length code – the values 0 to 8 are taken directly from classic CAN. The values that were up to now undefined (9 to 15, i.e. 1001 to 1111) are used for the new, extended data lengths: besides 0 to 8 bytes, 12, 16, 20, 24, 32, 48 and 64 bytes are now also available for the user data. Data lengths that differ from these are not possible, that is, unused areas must be padded with "filler values".

Besides the fast transmission of the data area, the effectively usable data rate can be significantly increased using CAN FD, and the cycle time can be considerably reduced. In this manner, a CAN FD network with 500 kBit arbitration, 4 MBit data transmission and 64 data bytes can achieve an effective data rate of over 5 MBit/s.

 

Real-time capability

The combining of multiple independent data packets into a single message means that data administration is made considerably simpler, as the individual messages no longer need to be synchronized with one another at great cost. The fast transmission of larger data packets by comparison to classic CAN enables transfer of 8 times the data volume (64 bytes) in roughly the same time that would be required for a classic 8-byte CAN message. In this way, high-priority messages can be transmitted much more quickly and the real-time capability improved.

 

Data security

Data security is an important topic: Despite the increased data packet size in comparison to classic CAN, CAN FD fulfills the same requirements in respect of data security. This is achieved by using longer CRC check keys with adapted algorithms, for example. Depending on the number of data bytes transmitted, one of three different CRC algorithms is used: the previous CRC formula for messages with up to 8 data bytes, as well as two enhanced algorithms with up to 16 data bytes or more than 16 data bytes for messages. The algorithm to be used by the CAN controller is determined by the data length code.

For improved data security, additional suggestions have been implemented. As a result, the CRC in CAN FD messages always starts with a stuff bit; after another 5 bits an additional stuff bit is included – contrary to the CAN stuff bit rule, this is independent of the bit values of the previous bits. Each stuff bit has the complementary value of the previous bit.

 

Backward compatibility

One disadvantage of switching from CAN to faster communications systems is the frequent requirement for a complete conversion: All CAN participants must be adapted to the new system, e.g. EtherCAT. Alternatively, the machine controller can be extended to use multiple heterogeneous networks. Both procedures offer advantages and disadvantages. Using CAN FD, an additional "gentler" option is now also available: As CAN FD controllers can be used as classic CAN nodes as well, all network nodes can be gradually replaced by CAN FD-capable devices. As soon as the entire network is CAN FD-capable, the advantages of CAN FD can be used to the fullest extent. This is of particular interest for special purpose machinery, as network participants that cannot be replaced by freely available nodes are often also used here – in particular, customer-specific devices or internally developed devices.